Into the Ether

“IM TRANS!”, I scream silently. I scream it softly in my head. As it floats softly into the void of my thoughts.

“I’m trans”. I whisper quietly to myself. The words seep in to my psyche. It soaks in every crevice of my being. It is something I cannot escape no matter how hard I try. No matter how far I run, it surrounds me like a wall that’ll always remind me-

” I’m trans”.

Living in a transphobic society is difficult, more so when one is in deep cover. Transphobic jokes, hurtful and cruel, stab into the very heart of who you are. Turned from a living, breathing human being into some lifeless meat puppet used as the punchline to grotesque jokes and terrible insults. That is the reality of living while trans.

Leave a Reply

